The Barnstormers Theater  "The oldest continuously operating community theater in Pennsylvania..."

One Act Festival

You will be auditioning for all 6 shows at one time. 

Actors are expected to prepare a 2 minute monologue and be prepared to do a cold reading by one or more of the directors.

MURDER MYSTERY    "THE VULTURES"


In the vein of And Then There Were None, Clue and Murder by Death, The Vultures puts a modern, comedic, gay spin on the haunted house/ mystery genre.

The story takes place at Westmount Estate, on the 20th anniversary of the death of publishing magnate Simon West. As his six remaining relatives gather for the reading of his will, the mysterious housekeeper declares, “The relatives are swooping in like a wake of vultures ready to pick the carcass clean.”

When the will is read, Hunter West is named as the sole heir, on the condition that he doesn’t suffer from an insanity curse that has plagued the family. If Hunter is declared of unsound mind, a second envelope of the will must be opened, and it will designate an alternate heir.

As the night progresses and the storm rages, Hunter’s sanity comes into question and one of the group goes missing.

Who will ultimately inherit the fortune? Will it be the charming realtor, the handsome male model, the dimwitted nail technician, the bitter old woman, the gay hairdresser, or the mild mannered accountant?

Throw in a priceless pocket watch, an androgynous housekeeper, an escaped mental patient, and a pair of reunited lovers and the result is murder, with a hefty dose of laughs.

CAST OF CHARACTERS
(In Order of Appearance)

TALBOT - (M or F) She is a dark, severe, androgynous being. She dresses in black and wears dark spectacles. Age unknown – Somewhere between 50 and 80. Talbot is a person of mystery
MR. CROSBY - (M) A friendly lawyer in his 50’s or 60’s.

HARRISON BLYTHE (M) - A tall, handsome male model with an amazing body. He is in his mid-30’s to early 40’s.

MARY ROBERTS - (F) A stately, well dressed, bitter old woman. She is somewhere between 50 and 70. She appears to dislike everyone and everything.

ASHLEY HOPWOOD - (F) A young, perky, nail technician from the South in her 20’s. She is a little loud, a little tacky and not too bright.

CHARLES WILLARD - (M) A charming, mild mannered realtor in his late 30’s or 40’s.

PAUL JONES - (M) A sweet, gentle accountant in his late 20’s or early 30’s.

HUNTER WEST - (M) A nice, charming male hairdresser in his late 20’s or early 30’s.

RINEHART - (M) A hospital guard in his 30’s or 40’s. He is big and strong, and can be brutal.

DR. AVERY - (M) A friendly, small town doctor in his 60’s or 70’s